The PsySSA Student Division hosted its third annual Mentorship Programme Awards Ceremony at the PsySSA Offices tonight, 14 November 2019.

The Mentorship Programme was established in 2017 by current Chairperson, Mr Muhammed Yaeesh Cassim. It has been accredited by SAQA at an NQF level 5.

The Mentorship Programme aims to provide students with an opportunity to enhance their academic writing skills whilst exposing students to various domains within the field of psychology. The programme seeks to encourage a holistic understanding of psychological perspectives, with particular emphasis on the African narrative. It is currently the only nationally run Mentorship Programme, being hosted in Gauteng, Kwa-Zulu Natal and the Western Cape. To date, the programme hosts over fifty students. Furthermore, the mentorship team is proud to announce that in 2020, the programme will extend its reach to the Free State and Limpopo.

Congratulations to the mentees for successfully completing our Mentorship Programme. The following Provincial Awards were achieved by Gauteng:

  • Academic Growth Achievement – Sharni Mpho Ngakane
  • Personal Growth Award – Nikita America Dalpate Ambaramo

The Mentorship Programme is entirely voluntary, and we appreciate every hour the participants have dedicated. Gauteng won two national awards:

  • Highest Academic Achievement – Marguerite Bergman
  • Mentorship Executive Award – Vanessa Stratford


Special Thanks to:

PsySSA President, Professor Garth Stevens, for attending the awards and for his address on ‘Experiences of Mentoring’.

PsySSA Executive Director, Ms Fatima Seedat, for attending the awards and presenting the provincial awards

2018 Mentee of the Year, Ms Matshepo Setlaleleng, for her address.


Share This