The Presidency, which includes the President, President-Elect and Past President, meets on a monthly basis in preparation for the Executive Committee meetings and to consult with the Executive Director regarding the short- and long-term objectives of the Society. The former includes the organisation’s day-to-day functioning and the latter involves its strategic planning and growth initiatives to ensure PsySSA’s position as the leading professional psychology association in the country and the continent.

President: Prof Sumaya Laher

Sumaya Laher is an Associate Professor in Psychology at the University of the Witwatersrand. She holds a dual registration with the HPCSA in the categories of research psychologist and psychometrist (independent practice). Prof Laher serves as Chair of the Congress Committee for the 22nd Annual PsySSA Congress and is an Associate Editor on the South African Journal of Psychology (SAJP). Prof Laher is an NRF rated researcher whose research interests are in the areas of psychological assessment, culture and mental illness.

President – Elect: Prof Tholene Sodi

Tholene Sodi is a Clinical Psychologist and Professor of Psychology at the University of Limpopo. He is the past Vice President of the Health Professions Council of South Africa and former Chairperson of the Professional Board for Psychology. Prof Sodi is an NRF rated researcher and has numerous publications, mostly in the area of culture and mental health.

Past President: Prof Anthony Pillay

Anthony Pillay is an Associate Professor in Behavioural Medicine at the Nelson R Mandela School of Medicine (UKZN) & Fort Napier Hospital. His post-doctoral training is in Maternal & Child Health at Harvard University & his research is in the area of women & children’s mental health, forensic mental health & professional training. He is a Visiting Professor at the University of Mauritius, where he also conducts research. Prof Pillay is the Editor-in-Chief of the South African Journal of Psychology.

Share This